The 1940s in Germany: Minor political issues

So I’m at Ritter Sport Cafe on Sunday, enjoying the best Sunday brunch I’ve had in awhile.  Seriously, before I get to the actual story, I have to stress that they make THE most amazing french toast, maybe top three in the world, including in France, which I don’t think actually even sells french toast.  I will tell you that what else they have is the second best hot chocolate in the world, second only to the Godiva hot chocolate in Salzburg, which I think is actually just melted chocolate in a cup.

Sorry, the food was really that distracting.  Moving on.

In case you’re not aware, they also have a massive chocolate shop, which wasn’t open the day I went to brunch, and a museum, which details the different chocolate and wrappers and marketing they’ve had over the years, starting in the 1930s until present day.

Let’s take a look at some of the decades to see how the chocolate has changed.

 

 

Then we get a bit of vintage, the farther back we go.

 

And then the first wall, which has the very start of the chocolate factory on display.

IMG_9769

Well that’s odd.  One wall doesn’t look like the others.  I wonder why the ’40s is so empty.

IMG_9771

Nothing more that the Germans love than to refuse to say words to address an old fashioned 1940s closing.  There must be a story here somewhere.   Ah, yes!  Found it!

IMG_9775

And there it is.  Those pesky political reasons, always shutting down chocolate factories.

Seriously, POLITICAL REASONS?

Germans.

2 thoughts on “The 1940s in Germany: Minor political issues

Comments are closed.