A story of surviving loss by suicide

As a follow-up to yesterday’s blog, I wanted to post the speech I gave at a mental health awareness conference in Washington, DC, in 2008.  I had only survived 9 months since losing my father to suicide, and I spoke from the survivor perspective with the hopes that sharing my story would make a difference in the life of one family struggling with the same issues.

Here is my initial story, something I’ve only shared with immediate family in the past.  Even they haven’t seen it in 7 years, and after I watched the video this morning, I was left with a sadness and emptiness that all other survivors will understand.  This video is about 20 minutes long, and I thank you in advance for watching it, for taking the time to understand a cause so important to me, and for sharing it on your pages with the hope that it may touch someone who needs some hope.

Losing my father, a personal look at loss by suicide

It takes only a conversation to give someone the hope they need to keep going in life.  Take the chance and start a conversation that may change the path of the life of someone you love.  I promise you, you will not regret it.

As always, I can be reached at theheatherchronicles@gmail.com and I look forward to hearing from you.