On missing Moxie

This losing Moxie thing has hit me really hard. Really hard is actually a gross understatement. I feel really, really empty.

I have tried writing down everything I feel but I can’t even write. I just sit silently for hours, sad and crying. I see her every time I close my eyes so I’ve tried to give up blinking and that isn’t working.

I gave up sleeping in our bed upstairs because I miss her snuggling up against me every night. We’re permanently moved to the living room floor, camping out where I can zone out and try to think of nothing.

For the record, it is impossible to think of nothing. It does not work.

Then I tried staring at some pictures to see if I could have a good meltdown but then I thought I would do my boss a favor and not horrify the office today with my antics.

And so I just wanted to post something quick because something has to help and I have always loved talking about Moxie and so I suppose it can’t make me feel worse. Nothing could be worse right now than this. (That is not a fucking challenge, WORLD)

I thought this was fitting today.

Don’t accept your dog’s admiration as conclusive evidence that you are wonderful. They are just the only living being on Earth that can love you more than they love themself.

Then I found this, which is one of my top five pictures of Mox.

My Moxie pants

God. I miss that face.

2 thoughts on “On missing Moxie

  1. CN Heidelberg says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss.
    That picture is AWESOME. She was obviously a great dog!

Comments are closed.