Why Germans think Americans are mental

Normally when we play my game of Germans v. Americans, we battle back and forth and they win sometimes and we win sometimes. Typically, though, this has to do with who has better road signs (Germans), food (Americans), rules (too complicated), etc. Stuff that only I probably find important and also, no one even knows there’s a battle except me, so there’s that.

There are times, though, that I realize we must be a very confusing group of people, especially when we speak in slang or idioms. Last night I was watching videos with friends and OHMYGOD, these videos alone explain some of the differences in American AND German culture better than I ever could.

God, Germans are so damned funny sometimes. Please sit back and enjoy a taste of what I live through every.damned.day. Welcome to Fatherland, friends.

Shooting fish in a barrel.


Haaaaa. Where do I get a barrel? This is 2011 now. Maybe if I was living in whiskey distributing place. I love how angry he is. Haaaaaaaaaaa.

Happy as a clam.


I’ll tell you what is what. A clam is not happy. And how many windows is the clam having? No windows.

Daddy Long Legs.


You know I do not like daddy long legs. That is not a spider. That is not like grass hopping. Does it have a head? NO. Does it have a thorax? No. hahaha.

Balls to the Walls.


This is not effective. If there’s nothing Germans hate more is when there is an efficiency fail in life. If they are nothing else, they are the world’s most efficient people ever to have ever walked this planet. Oh god, I’ve watched these videos 4 times now and I am dying over here.

If that doesn’t make you laugh, please let me know so I can unfriend you and judge you.

**Special thanks to Sandy for giving me someone to quote for the rest of the week. šŸ˜‰

One thought on “Why Germans think Americans are mental

Comments are closed.