My war with The Kindle

I have a feeling that some day this week I’m going to have to write an updated, Yes, I’m a sellout, post. Damn. I hate when that happens.

The Heather v. The Kindle is my longest ongoing battle to date. I’ve refused to buy one and even now as I write this, I’m making a face of disgust and I’m disappointed in myself.

The enemy.

I’ve written about this before. I love to read. I love books. I love the smell of books. I love the feel of books. I love to fold pages and I love to write notes on the pages and underline important passages. I love libraries and library cards and the smell of molding pages and dust peppered throughout the high shelves filled with stacks of written dreams.

Don’t you remember the time I wanted The Library perfume?? Well, who actually admits to wanting to have a bottle of something that smells like a library? Me, that’s who. Also, no one ever bought me this so REMINDER, my birthday is in October.

It’s the same thing with writing. I love paper and I lose my mind over French paper. I love pencils. I collect journals and stationary. I write first drafts long hand and sharpening pencils makes me so happy that most people would think I’m disturbed. I like natural paper and journals with heavy bindings and anything in green.

Ugh. I’m distraught. I would rather walk across base today to see if getting a library card would get me access to all the books I need for the book club I just joined, because ordering from Amazon overseas just isn’t possible with only three weeks notice.

Or.

Or I just give up book club before I even start it. Not because I want to but because I really don’t want to give into The Kindle. I would rather fight a piece of merchandise that doesn’t know its even fighting back JUST OUT OF PRINCIPLE than give in on this one.

So yeah. Just another day with me fighting an imaginary battle against the world. Makes complete sense, I know.