Birthday Weekend Wrap-Up

Many of my friends have written today not so much to see how Birthday Weekend went, but to remind me, “Your birthday is now over. No more birthday for you!” Which I’m sorry, makes you a bastard, because this is my month and my party and I’m carrying it out til Nov 1.

Actually, the only thing that’s left to celebrate my 32 years of cheating death is a birthday party this weekend, thrown by my friends here.

Speaking of cheating death for 32 years, though, here is the text my stepfather sent me from my mother’s phone this weekend:
“32, huh? Need I say more? Who would have thought of you being 32?”

I’m not sure if he’s congratulating me on surviving or if he’s telling me I’m so youthful that it’s not possible that I’m 32 yet or if he’s just TWISTING HIS KNIFE IN MY HEART AGAIN SINCE WE ARE STILL NOT FACEBOOK FRIENDS.

He also still doesn’t even know that we are at war because my mother never happened to tell him. So bleh.

Anyway. Birthday weekend was nice and quiet around our house. We stuck around and spent a weekend full of wine drinking, grilling, house organizing, game playing and I did my best to spend a paycheck on things I feel like I deserve. I also opened a ton of gifts from my fantastic friends and family–favorites include this:

Which is to be the computer that finally finishes The Book. We’ll see.

And this, which I’m living in currently.

Also some books, music, fancy skivs, candles, flowers and balloons and THIS which has been used quite a bit this weekend since, Umm, yes, I gave up coffee over TWO WEEKS AGO. (and no, I haven’t killed anyone OR broken anything on purpose in my house)

It's best because it's green


I’m not sure if subbing in tea is like quitting cigarettes and taking up cloves but the switch has actually made me feel a million times better in the morning, which is why in my head I’m writing a thesis as to how and why tea is better for you than coffee. I consulted my personal nurse, my sister, and she says,
“Yes, tea is better for you. It has more tannins and antioxidants and less cream and sugar than coffee.” I act very pleased with her medical opinion, having no idea what the hell a tannin is.

“I still put cream and sugar in my tea,” I stated. Obviously.

“God, Heather.”

“I mean splenda and milk but still.” Kind of the same.

“That’s not the same. Anyway, it’s better for you.”

“Good. Did I tell that I gave up coffee TWO WEEKS AGO? It’s been amazing.” I say it like I did something so noble that I deserved a medal or at least a certificate.

“I see you still haven’t given up booze. Also amazing.” GodDAMN HER.

This is also the same girl who said to me weeks ago, when I told her how much I hated my brown hair said,

“Oh. I’m sure I know exactly why you feel like that. You feel like no one is looking at you. No one cares about girls with brown hair, do they?” And then she fucking laughed.

But she was also right. Damn her.

So there you have it. The end of birthday week and yet another stimulating conversation between the Smith sisters. Happy Monday!