The start of Spring

Today is perfect.  The sun is shining, the flowers are popping up and the sky is bright blue.  It’s warm, the dogs are lying around in the yard and I’m lying around typing with the windows open.   Feeling guilty that it is so nice out and I was inside, I went on out and took a few pics of my yard.  Then, in coming back in to upload, I read it’s the first day of spring!  What a coincidence.  And so here are a few spring-y images and quotes for you.

It’s spring fever.  That is what the name of it is.  And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!  ~Mark Twain

In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt.  ~Margaret Atwood

Am excited to watch these bloom

It was one of those March days when the sun shines hot and the wind blows cold:  when it is summer in the light, and winter in the shade.  ~Charles Dickens

Tiny and yellow
Everything is blooming most recklessly; if it were voices instead of colors, there would be an unbelievable shrieking into the heart of the night.  ~Rainer Maria Rilke

Red and vibrant

If you’ve never been thrilled to the very edges of your soul by a flower in spring bloom, maybe your soul has never been in bloom. 
 ~Terri Guillemets

Purple and dainty

Now every field is clothed with grass, and every tree with leaves; now the woods put forth their blossoms, and the year assumes its gay attire.  ~Virgil
 
*Sigh.  I love these days.  They just remind me how great of a season Spring is.  Typically, I only enjoy it for a week or two, thankful to be done winter, and then, acting completely selfish, start wishing for the sun and heat of summer.
Well, Spring.  I’m glad you showed up today.  Rain and bloom all you want.  Today, I think you’re fantastic.