Street legal

I am finally legal.  To drive in Germany.  I’ve been other legals for quite some time now.  And, this wouldn’t be such a big deal except for the fact that I put it off for a year and a half now and if they had caught me, I would never be allowed to get my license and soooo, congrats to me!

While we’re on the topic of congratulations, my favorite words of encouragement today came from my pal KJukes who wrote to me, “Congrats, Heather.  You’re now officially allowed to invade Poland.”  HA!  The cheekiness of living in Europe.  I heart it.

But anyway…fuck yeah, I’m an official driver in Germany and there’s nothing anyone can do to stop me now.  AND, even better, my Mr. H cannot threaten me or remind me that I do not have my license, which for over a year now has given him more bargaining power and the upper-hand in arguments.

Oh, and did I forget to mention that one of us in my house didn’t pass the first time and therefore I automatically own the driving bragging rights?  (he is not going to like this part of the blog)  Well, true story.  But then again, I am close to being the world’s worst driver and so bragging rights doesn’t do much for someone who refuses to drive in precipitation, the dark, or circumstances where there are big trucks to pass or concrete dividers to contend with.  Yep, I’m that girl.

Add rain and you have my commuting worst nightmare.

So.  You may all be sitting around thinking, woo hoo, you’re 31 and have been driving half your life.  You should probably have your license, stop yapping about it.  Oh, ok.  Sure.  But I’d like all of you living back at home to review question 76 of my 100 question test being,

“Which vehicle does NOT have the right of way?” 

Yes, that is a horse.

Well, in case you don’t know, the horse is one of the first vehicles to move.  Awesome, I know.

So, anyway, in case any of you are wondering, I scored an 86 which is pretty good, considering the right of way and roundabout section almost made me throw up.  Let’s be honest, though.  Even though I passed, every roundabout from here on out will be a life or death situation for all those entering and exiting around me. 

So, now that I am a big girl and officially more Germanized, what shall I do this evening?  Ahhh, car shopping.  That’s right.  I am DONE sharing the Prius.  This girl wants a new toy and I already have my sights set on something pretty….

All class, all the time.

And for those of you that think the A8 is a bit much, here’s a little reminder.  I didn’t stand in line at MediaMart for that brand new flat screen for nothing.  I knew I’d be getting my license someday soon… 😉

2 thoughts on “Street legal

  1. Melanie says:

    I thought I was the only one who refused to drive under anything other than perfect conditions! We’ve had the car since last spring and I’ve driven it…maybe 4 times. Possibly 3. I’m glad to hear I have competition for world’s worst driver 🙂

  2. unapologeticmoxie says:

    Oh, I’d win. And for the record, if I am to every come into a large sum of money, the first thing I’m buying myself is a driver. A very cute, gay (male), personal assistant driver. That should take care of the problem. 🙂

Comments are closed.