White Blank Page

 

I have to admit, I’m slightly obsessed with Mumford and Sons lately.  Like really obsessed.  First it was Little Lion Man.  Now it’s White Blank Page. 

I heard it for the first time when I was walking around Yerevan the other day and now I have listened to it and then the album about 9 times.  It’s getting to be a sickness, really.  For someone who knows nothing about music, I really go all head over heels crazy for some artists, which leads me to go through the, Why are you such a music moron, kick I go through like twice  a year.  It’s the phase where I promise myself to find all these new indie artists that make me feel and then I do for about a day and then I realize I have no idea what the hell I’m doing and so I give up and make my friends make me cds. So very lazy of me. 

I’ve behaved similarly with Ben Harper, way back when I lived in DC and thought I was just going to die every time I heard the song “Another Lonely Day.”  Then it was Modest Mouse with “The World at Large.”  Then David Gray, primarily due to “This Year’s Love”, which still makes me losemyshit when I’m acting like an emotional trainwreck.  Then it was Kings of Leon’s “Closer”, I think when I was going through this music-that-haunts-me phase.  Then it was James Morrison and I was all hot over “You Make it Real” and almost every other song that came out of his yummy mouth. 

And now it’s Mumford and Sons.  I love them, regardless of the fact that their whole album makes me want to toss myself on my bed, staring at the ceiling and rolling around all distressed, much like a 13-year-old girl.   So, if any of you want to send me suggestions of similar albums to get into, toss a few suggestions my way.  It’s going to be a long week here in dark and mysterious Yerevan and I could use some more mood music.

One thought on “White Blank Page

Comments are closed.