I am thankful for…

Airplanes. Because riding in a car for ten hours is a bitch.

I’m grateful that they sell Hazelnut Dunkin Donuts on the base where I work on because if I have to drink Starbucks or generic coffee, I losemyshit.

I’m grateful for Moxie and how she’s really taught me about unconditional love, considering she loves me whether I’m pretty or ugly, fat or normal, wretched or pleasant. This might not be saying much, though, since I think she blacks out every time she blinks.

I’m thankful to have such fantastic siblings and parents and 2 savings accounts, even if my husband refuses to let me take money out of one of them.

I’m grateful that we have a coffee machine in my office and that when its cold out, I have a coat to wear and heated house to come home to.

I’m grateful to be able to live, work and travel in Europe.

I’m thankful that I still have a crazy and chaotic full head of hair, which seems normal, but I’ve seen that early female balding shit and it’s NOT pretty.

I’m grateful that I had the courage to leave my normal life in order to chance that I could have a brilliant one. I was right.

I’m grateful that my husband likes condiments as much as I do so that I don’t have to argue why we need to buy a new bottle of salad dressing every time we shop for groceries.

I am grateful that I have amazing girlfriends that are strong and beautiful women. To mention a few: There’s my loyal, selfless, counterpart who’s known me since I was 9. My crazy, reliable companion who knows all the very bad and is my partner in crime. The responsible, beautiful and thoughtful one that cried in approval when she saw me marry (in relief, I think). The opinionated vixen that reminds me to stop dressing frumpy and gives me lipstick for my birthday. The true lady that’s great for lingerie suggestions and marriage venting. The sweet outgoing one that’s a trainwreck with me when I feel like bad behavior. These ladies and others? I could.not.live.without.

I am grateful that my family hasn’t actually disowned me this year, as this blog has only given me a new avenue to express my inappropriate opinions daily.

I am thankful that we have both American grocery stores and German stores to choose from. Obviously I wasn’t going to die of starvation in any case but too much pork is never a good thing.

I’m thankful to have a husband that is my best friend, my wrestling partner, my personal chef and my shrink. He’s also good for reminding me that I’m famous only in my own head.

I’m thankful that we won the war because otherwise I’d be afraid to leave my house.

I’m grateful for bookstores and down comforters and sweater dresses in the winter.

I am grateful for white wine, especially in the absence of a shrink or sedatives.

I am grateful that my mother taught me that all you need is self-confidence and that my father taught me not to settle.

I’m grateful for defrizzing solution, kraft paper and Amazon.com.

I am grateful for my ability to tell a good story and for the sound of the laughter that it often brings.

I am grateful that I grew up by the ocean and that I had a childhood full of camping, crab hunting on the cliffs of the sea, running barefoot in fields in a cell phone-less environment, and riding bikes on back streets with my gang of helmetless friends. Oh, and New Kids on the Block. I’ll forever be thankful that they came into my life.

I am thankful that a few years ago I chipped my front tooth because every time I look in the mirror, it reminds me that I’m not perfect.

I’m grateful that I can be loud and crazy and opinionated and there’s not one thing in the world anyone can do to silence me. Well, maybe when I’m in my own country.

I’m grateful that I’ve felt pain and loss so that I truly appreciate the magic of happiness and love.

I’m grateful to all the people who love me back.

I’m thankful that so far, in 31 years, I’ve woken up every day to give it another try.

2 thoughts on “I am thankful for…

  1. Liz says:

    Im grateful for having met the crazy american blonde girl in CE who ensures all our lives are easier no matter where we are in the world…who talks at 1000 words a minute…. who has insane admirers from all crazy toothless corners of the globe….and above all who wears her heart on her sleeve and shows her true self to all….
    In a nutshell as crappy as CE may have been at times … this crazy lady has made it all the better for us doozeys!!!
    Loving the blog Heather!!!

Comments are closed.