Thank you, 2009 and 2010 kick-off in Salzburg!

Everyone is always very excited to bring in the New Year, and in turn, toss out the old year.  I think that’s unfair, especially on the years that I feel like I had an exceptional year.  And so today, on the last day of 2009, I’d like to thank you, year, for all the great things that happened to me in 2009.  Here are a few highlights.

1. The person I heart most in this world (outside of my sister, Katie, which I always have to note so that she doesn’t get really crazy in thinking C has trumped her in some way) asked me to marry him.  I also tried getting married once or twice (great stories, really).  And because of all this, I got a fancy ring. 

2. I moved to Germany.  Across the world.  With no job and no status of wife in tow, I just left w C and the dogs–well, it wasn’t that easy, but still….  And it felt great.  The Lady of Leisure act (v. similar to this fancy Dartois painiting) was perfect for me all summer (though I would not do it again) and I am beyond lucky that I was given the opportunity to come here and then figure my game plan out, as the afterthought, not as the requirement to be here. 

3.  I’ve made new friends.  Great friends.  Friends from other countries and friends from cities back at home.

4.  I landed a job that uses my experience and my college degree and lets me travel all over Easter Europe.  Most importantly–Who the hell knew that I’d ever use my college degree again?? 

5.  I have three new countries to add to my international traveling list–Denmark, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina.  And I can do the pleasantries and count to ten in 4 more languages, which means at any given time, I can say hi to you in ten different languages.  Woo hoo.  Now, if only I were fluent in something…(resolution??) but not German, ugh.  Alright, maybe German, but good god.  Ugliest. Spoken. Language. On. Earth.  (or at least top 3)

6.  My family is healthy and well and happy, or at least most of the time.  I was in my brother’s wedding and I was asked to be in my sister’s.  No one lost a limb this year, no one is in jail (what a bonus and surprise) and though we’re all still crazy as all hell, that’s still a great year because let’s be honest, we’re never going to be sane (boring).  And I have a new family, too.  The more, the merrier. 

7.  I have a great group of friends from home that I think of all the time, that I miss every day.  Moving across the world really helps show you who your real friends are, and I am really happy with the ones I know are all mine. 🙂 

8. And lastly, for now….I turned 30 and my face didn’t peel off, I didn’t instantly go gray, I didn’t combust, my cellulite and wrinkles didn’t turn neon in color or multiply, and I was actually happy.  You spend most of your 20s wondering how shitty 30 is going to be, but I can’t complain at all.  That probably sounds really annoying, but I like 30 and I think I’ll like my early 30s a lot.  Maybe everything just keeps getting better.  That would be nice….

And now, 2010, 2009 has raised the bar.  You will have to work VERY hard to top 2009, but I have faith in you.  So where shall we kick it off??  Why, SALZBURG, AUSTRIA, of course!

Salzburg has been my top rated, numero uno, most favorite city on the face of this earth since 2007, when I visited for the first time.  I love everything about Salzburg–from the fortress on the hill, to the river, to all the Mozart stuff, the food, the people, you name it.  It’s pretty magical and I’m so excited to return in winter, their best season!  (or so I’m told)  And so this afternoon, we’re packing up the car, the dogs, snacks, adult beverages, sleeping bags, etc and heading out on our 3 1/2 hour drive to the Home of Mozart and Sound of Music.  And yes, of course we’re sleeping the car this weekend.  How else are we supposed to have complete freedom to come and go and galavant and picture take and live in the shadows of the streets as we please?  Hotels, eh.  Not interested.

And so tonight is Sylvester, day of Saint Sylvester, celebration of New Year’s Eve.   At midnight, fireworks, or  schweizerkrachers, go off over the Hohensalzburg Fortress while church bells ring in the distance. Then we’ll hear Donauwalzer, and if we’re like the locals, we’ll start the New Year off with a walz with the one we love.  La dee da.  I’m ready.

This weekend, upon my return, I will post this year’s resolutions.  I don’t have them finished yet, but a weekend in the car should give me the time that I need to think.

And so…goodbye, 2009, thanks for everything….and Happy New Year!

One thought on “Thank you, 2009 and 2010 kick-off in Salzburg!

  1. Nick says:

    can you believe you are doing all this and have you taken a moment to think what you were doing last year at this time, let alone what you were doing two years ago? You are so lucky! Happy New Year !

Comments are closed.