Big week, big week

me mox zugs

This picture has nothing to do with my big week.  I opted to start today’s update with the picture because it makes me giggle.  Moxie is afraid of heights apparently and she dislikes being picked up in general, usually making it ridiculously awkward for me to lift her.  And so typical, she got all awkward on me on the mountain trip this weekend and the result was this picture.  Hahah, I love her and I love this picture.

Now, back to life in Aidlingen.  So, in exactly one week, I heard of a job, interviewed for said job, was offered the job, and started yesterday.  Hurray!  My days of being a kept woman are over.  I am back in the mix of politics/logistics/miliary/civilian work, of course in the form of a big, bad contractor.  Booo me, I know.  Whatever.  I’m excited and I’m more excited to get my first paycheck.  Who knew work could be so exciting?  We’ll see how long this excitement lasts….

Now, for a few exciting perks.  I work for the German economy, which means great health care and free life insurance, which is not an invitation for anyone to off me and collect.  I left it all to Moxie, like the old, crazy ass biddy I am.  But really, life insurance and 401ks.  I feel like a new woman. 

They have three different functional kitchens where you can cook your lunch.  Some lady was frying eggs today, no lie.  I like that.  And FOUR coffee machines that will spit you all the coffee, cappuccino, lattes, espresso, hot chocolate, and hot milk you could ever want.  I still have no idea who drinks hot milk.

I am out of sweatpants, which is not so much good for me, but the rest of the free world.  But let’s be honest, I’m about 30 years too early to be wearing sweatpants around the house 7 days a week and I do look pretty spiffy in heels and a skirt, though I fucking hate tights.  I won’t go as far as saying I’m husky or anything but shit, only really skinny girls must not mind tights and they can go to hell.  I ripped a pair today pulling them up, and it’s only my second day.  Back to investing in whoever makes nylons.  Leggs, ah yes, leggs, you clever little bastards. Sidenote: Chris walked in AGAIN today while I was wiggling into my nylons and I will avoid that little meeting again at all cost.  I don’t know why, but men get this intense look of confusion, fear, disgust and curiosity if they catch you half in a pair of nylons.  Or they chase you.  Any of the above is unacceptable and therefore, tights and nylons go on in a dark closet, by MYSELF. (I feel like any girl reading this will completely understand)

I have a map at my desk.  Granted, maps aren’t as cool as globes but this one is nice because it features per diem by country and any map with dollar signs is a nice map.  AND, lucky me, it features Serbia (not Siberia), which is where I will be for a week–starting next week!  Who knew.  Serbia.  So in looking up Serbia, first to find it on a map (brilliant, i know) and then I did a “top ten” of Serbia search and lucky me, Miss Serbia let me know that the best things about Serbia is the people it imports around the world–apparently they’ve got some athletic and intellectual talent over there.  Fair, but I want to hear about the castle situation, favorite drink and food.  Those are important things I should know about.  In looking into it, I find that the plum and grape brandy are favorites, as is the mince meat sandwich (akaserbia castle the hamburger).  The castle situation?  I’m unsure.  I found this old castle, but it’s really nothing to write home about.  In fact, it looks foolish if you ask me.  I guess I’ll have to wait this out and judge Serbia on what I see that week, which really won’t be much outside of Belgrade.

So that leaves me with Serbia’s football team.  I really think you can judge a country over here on how good looking their football team is.  I think that’s fair.  So let’s go over these amazing athletes Miss Serbia is so captivated by.  (she’s not so bad looking herself, really)

jovanovic_milanWe’ve got Milan.  Nice name, I hear he’s quick on his feet, scores a lot, but in some photos he looks like Kevin Federline and that bothers me.  Then we have Zoran, the dark haired fellow giving the sultry eyes.  Then Milos, which really, he just ruins the good looking factor of this team andMilos-Krasic then Neven, who I was going to say is good looking, but then I saw he was born in 1988 and I felt like a dirty pervert.  I don’t feel like posting anymore pictures because they do nothing for me.  Let’s just summarize here and say they don’t have a David Beckham or that yummy tan soccer player I always see in the celebrity blogs, and therefore, I don’t care.  When I return I will write something about all the great things Serbia has to offer…I’m sure it’ll be a great trip.

Back to the work thing.  It’s great, just great.  It’ll be great next week when I travel and it’ll be even better next month when I get paid.  Ah, work…I missed you.

Now, other great things.  1. They started selling Gluhwein at the stores for 1euro/6 liters.  That seems dangerous to me, but since you’re supposed to simmer it over your stove with oranges and cinnamon and such, and not so much chug it out of the bottle, I think the discounted price is fantastic and I’m getting really excited for Christmas season here.

2.  It’s true. cross at zugs Zugspitze is amaaaaazing.  It’s the highest mountain in Germany, and it may be the most beautiful.  We were up there last weekend, it was freezing (literally) and people were skiing everywhere.  The sleeping in your car situation is fantastic in Grainau, the Italian is delectable, the Irish bars are entertaining, and German Christmas shops are magical.  I can raise my right hand and state for the record, “Grainau is bad ass and I will be back to ski this winter.”  I love finding new towns to return to. 

3.  18 days until I’m back in the states for Thanksgiving.  On tap?  Family dinners, reunions with friends, decorating the family tree, viewing wedding sites, dress shopping, outlet shopping, and good old-fashioned New England holiday festivities (see: leftovers, walks outside and napping by the fire).  I cannot WAIT to be home for a week. 

And that is the update for this week…….

One thought on “Big week, big week

Comments are closed.