Endless flowers and my muse Mox

IMG_0201First thing I have to discuss is the fabulous discovery I made last weekend on our ride through the Black Forest.  The Blumen fields.DSC_0319  (Blumen meaning flower in German) Every town here, or at least every other town here has at least one field of of beautiful flowers growing, rows and rows of exquisitely vibrant and fresh sunflowers and lillies and something else…I have no idea what they’re called, but it doesn’t matter, they’re beautiful, there are hundreds of them and here’s the shocking part.  They’re all mine if I want them.  All of them.  Which I don’t, I only want my share.  It’s like every town gives you your very own personal florist and it’s there whenever you want, just pull up and pick them.  They do ask that you pay .50 euro a stalk, but really, that’s nothing in comparison to how each bouquet fills my rooms with light and the sweetest smell.  I can’t get over the fact that I can go get them every week.DSC_0315  I’m not even all that wild about flowers usually.  I do not need them from boyfriends, I HATE roses, all of them, but especially those vile red ones, just bleeding and being terribly predictable.  Tulips, ah, the tulip is my exception to the rule.  Bring me tulips, daily, and you will have my heart forever.  Even once a week would do it….I cannot WAIT until the spring.  I am going to parade all around the Netherlands, finding fields of tulips to roll around in.  I love, love, LOVE tulips.  Ok, back to the Blumen fields.  I hope they are filled with tulips in the spring, that is all I ask.  I had to toss out my pretty Blumen flowers yesterday.  Looks like I’ll be making a run to Esslingen later this evening for a new batch.  Why not my town, you ask?  Because some selfish wenches cut them all down.  I guess they don’t know the rule about only taking your share so that others can enjoy the flowers….Oh well, to the next town it is.

 Now, let’s talk about my new hobby, painting.  I am not creative by any means.  I don’t know anything about colors.  I don’t paint. I don’t draw.  I write, that is all.  I don’t understand art.  I don’t even know if I like art.  I never did in school.  Strike that, I did like pottery, which I think is really just an excuse to get dirty.  Anyway, painting is new to me, and I like it.  It’s kinda relaxing, which I need lately, because the writing I’m doing is not relaxing, it’s stressful and dark and getting to me.  The painting is a great distraction.  And so here it is, here  is the masterpiece I painted a week DSCN1869-2ago.  Now I should be fair and let you know that I modeled my painting after a work of another artist, but it was no paint by number.  I free handed that beauty and think I’ll paint more.  Lucky for me, this artist paints pictures all modeled after dogs like Moxie, our blue heeler.  And even luckier for me, I have a lot of blue paint left to make more…Feel free to submit an order.  Doesn’t everyone want a painting of my special girl, Mox?   And now, to be sure I credit the one and only Mr. George Rodrigue, he is the artist whose art I am attempting to immitate.  Check out his work here http://www.georgerodrigue.com/rodrigue/index2.htm.  It’s really fabulous…actually,it’s probably only fabulous if you own a blue heeler, otherwise it might just look abstract and like I was on acid and had nothing better to do. Not the case, not the case. 

Good news about Oktoberfest.  We have 4 seats in a tent for the OPENING NIGHT of the Stuttgart Oktoberfest on September 19th.  Even better news is that Lainie and Trey will be here for over a week to celebrate Oktoberfest with us.  I cannot wait to see them, can’t wait to see what Oktoberfest is all about (I know, beer), and by then it will be FALL and I LOVE FALL.  It’s going to be a great week.

Ah, not much to report today.  Am framing pictures and relaxing with my feet up.  It feels more like home when we stay home and I’m getting used to it.  (don’t ask Chris, he’d tell you all about my mood swings…)  Anyway,  I have three years to travel on the weekends.  IAnd it’s nice to just sit at home sometimes….Home in Aidlingen.

One thought on “Endless flowers and my muse Mox

Comments are closed.